Where To Learn Every Blue Mage Spell In Final Fantasy XIV

Blue Mage was added to Final Fantasy 14 in patch 4.5, and there are currently 124 unique Blue Mage spells to learn and master. Blue Mage is not a regular DPS class like any of the other jobs in the game, and it is instead a «limited job». This means you can’t use it for some content, such as Duty Roulette or completing the main campaign, but it can be used in the open world and instanced content when using a pre-made party.



Related: Final Fantasy 14: Guide To All Minions Found In Dungeons

Despite these limitations, Blue Mage is a lot of fun and can scratch that collector’s itch as you learn all the spells. Plus, the Job can be extremely useful during Itinerant Moogle sessions for blazing through content with specialized groups and load-outs. Here, we’ll take a look at where you can learn every single Blue Mage spell.

Updated July 19, 2023: With the release of Patch 6.45, the level cap for Blue Mage has increased to 80, and along with it 20 new spells to learn. We’ve updated this guide with information on where to find each of these new spells.

How To Learn Spells

Unlike other jobs that acquire new abilities when they level up, Blue Mages must learn their spells from enemies. They do this by first witnessing the enemy use the spell, then defeating that enemy.

Let’s use Ice Spikes as an example. You can learn this spell from Trickster Imp in Central Shroud. To learn the spell, you must first have the enemy Trickster Imp cast the spell to completion. The spell doesn’t have to hit you or do damage, it just has to be cast. After that, defeat the enemy, and you will have a chance to learn Ice Spikes.

If you defeat the enemy before it casts its spell, you will not have a chance to learn it.

Blue mage casting animation

Joining a party with other Blue Mages will increase the chance to learn a spell. In synced dungeons, that is, playing a dungeon at the intended level, you will have a 100 percent chance to learn the spell, as long as you still see the enemy use the spell. Because of these two facts, running dungeons with a group of Blue Mages is one of the best ways to fill out your Spell Book.

There is no level requirement to learn a spell, meaning you can run into a level 60 area as a level one Blue Mage and learn spells there, as long as you can survive the enemy’s attacks. However, spells you get inside of dungeons, like Mind Blast, will require you to meet the level requirements of that dungeon.

Each spell has an associated Rank, which essentially indicates how hard it is to learn. One-star spells have a higher learn rate, while five-star spells have a much lower learn rate.

What Are Whalaqee Totems?

Outside of learning spells from enemies in the open world, dungeons, and so on, there are a few spells that can only be taught by special items; Whalaqee Totems. These items can be obtained from Wayward Gahell in Ul’dah – Steps of Thal (X:12.5, Y:12.9). To get these items, you’ll need to meet specific requirements, usually after learning a certain number of spells or clearing a certain number of Masked Carnivale stages.

Spells 1-16

outer la noscea goblin base in daytime

Spells 17-32

middle la noscea view of limsa lominsa

Spells 33-48

central thanalan view of ul dah

Spells 49-64

Leviathan looking down at players.

Spells 65-80

the vault dungeon in ishgard

Spells 81-95

yanxia doma area

Spells 97-112

the lochs ala mhigo

Spells 113-124

Titania points her staff at the party to ready for battle

Next: Final Fantasy 14: Complete Guide To Playing Blue Mage

Deja un comentario